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Getting leads to open your emails is one battle while getting them to engage and convert is another. If you’re well-versed with email marketing, you’ll know that even the smallest tweak can yield excellent results in expanding your customer reach. Evaluating key email engagement metrics can help you to optimize your email marketing strategy.
The purpose of this guide
Email marketing relies on engagement, but that’s often easier said than achieved!
The specific results you want from marketing will depend on the objectives and goals of your business, but some common metrics can be a useful gauge of the success of your email marketing strategy.
This article will give you insight into certain metrics you should be paying attention to, their benefits, and a clear step-by-step formula for you to start tracking them today.
Ready to get started? Let’s dive right into it.
What is an email engagement metric?
Email engagement metrics are indicators that help evaluate how effective an email marketing campaign is.
Tracking and assessing these metrics can help businesses gain valuable insights such as how many leads are being converted at any given time, how many new leads are added to the existing network of customers, and ways to boost their subscriber count.
These metrics can be an excellent way to know your audience, build upon what works, eliminate what doesn’t, and piece together an effective marketing strategy that yields a positive ROI depending on what your business/personal goals are.
Why are email metrics important?
Email engagement metrics allow businesses to check progress against benchmarks and previous performance, making it easy to spot patterns of improvement or decline.
This makes it possible to identify problems and make informed decisions to steer a campaign back on track.
Other benefits of tracking email engagement metrics include:
- Saving you time and money contacting leads that aren’t receptive to your business
- Helping you to establish the most ideal marketing schedule, including cadence, best days, and even best times of day to contact your leads
- Insights into whether you might benefit from segmenting your email list to target audiences differently
Key email engagement metrics to track
Let’s explore some of the most common and useful email engagement metrics to keep track of.
Open rate has long been one of the longest and most universally used metrics by organizations. Simply put, it is the percentage of email recipients who open a given email. This metric compares the total number of emails opened by recipients against the total number of emails sent.
Open rates can give us a clearer picture of your email marketing approach:
- Are our recipients interested in what we have to offer?
- Are our emails viewed as spam?
- Does our mail content satisfy the interests of our leads?
- Are we sending our emails to the right people?
- Have we taken care to obtain informed consent before beginning the email marketing dialogue?
A high email open rate indicates that your email has captured the interest of your recipients and ensures that your message is seen by your target audience. If you have a low email open rate, answering questions like the above can help businesses not only get an in-depth understanding of where their campaigns currently stand but to use this information to fine-tune their marketing strategy.
The bounce rate refers to the percentage of emails sent that do not get delivered. There are two types of bounces:
- Hard bounce
- Soft bounce
Hard bounces are permanent and a result of invalid, closed, or non-existent email addresses. It is crucial to reduce or eliminate any hard bounces because Internet Service Providers (ISPs) use bounce rates to assess the reputation of an email sender.
Soft bounces are temporary and a result of full inboxes, poor Internet connections, or a problem with the recipient’s server. In most cases, these emails get delivered once the problem clears up or you could always resend these emails later.
Click-through rate (CTR)
Click-through rate (CTR) is the number of clicks per email delivered. It can be calculated as follows:
(Total number of clicks / Total number of emails delivered) * 100
For example, if the total number of clicks is 700 for 15,000 emails delivered, then the CTR is:
(700 / 15,000) * 100 = 4.6%
When crafting an email, you might include links to your business’ website, call-to-action buttons, or subscription requests. CTR can shed light on how well existing and prospective clients are interested in your email content and are a useful metric for measuring engagement. It’s also a stepping stone to maximizing your conversion rate, which can directly influence your sales and profit margins.
This refers to the percentage of recipients who have reported your emails as spam. A high spam rate indicates that your leads don’t find value in the content that you send them and therefore they’re not interested in hearing from your brand anymore.
This can be detrimental to your business because your whole email campaign is dependent on your emails providing value to your leads. Since they are rejecting your brand’s offers, not only does this crumble your entire campaign but it can drive sales down which in turn can lower profit margins.
This refers to the percentage of recipients who clicked on a link in an email and completed a desired action such as signing up, filling out a form, or purchasing a product from your company’s website.
For instance, if you’re sending an email to offer your audience the chance to purchase a product on a limited-time offer, you’d consider anyone who purchases the product to be a conversion.
This conversion is directly tied to the call-to-action in your mail content which in turn is tied to the overall goal of the business. This metric is the culmination of all your efforts and is a clear indicator of the success of your email marketing campaign.
How to get started tracking your email engagement
Step 1: Google Analytics
Google Analytics is a great tool to obtain, interpret, and transform raw data into valuable insights about how your emails are performing. This powerful tool offers a bevy of features for email marketers to help increase the effectiveness of their email marketing campaigns — plus it’s free to use, too.
Google Analytics lets you easily track email opens and provide vital information such as when they were opened. This can help plan the timing of your emails so they coincide with when your leads are most active and are more likely to engage with your emails.
Google Analytics doesn’t just stop there.
It also tracks user activity once they click out of your email and interact with other pages on a business website. Details such as how many visitors came to a page due to a certain campaign and how long they stayed can help email marketers identify what forms of content customers resonate with more. Using this information, they can personalize emails such that it meets customer interests.
Step 2: Google Postmaster tools
Google Postmaster Tools is a free online tool provided by Google that shows different deliverability insights, which allow users to gauge how their campaigns are doing within the Gmail network. This includes:
- Spam rate
- IP reputation
- Domain reputation
- Feedback loop
- Delivery errors
Photo By Medium
This is a useful tool to help markers monitor how Gmail viewed their email activity — therefore it’s important to bear in mind that this doesn’t provide any insights on other service providers.
Gmail remains the most popular email platform with over 1.8 billion users today with a market share of 27.8%. So even though this service isn’t available for other ISPs, it’s beneficial to see how your analytics stack up with the most used email client.
Step 3: Optimize email engagement with Kickbox
Kickbox is an automated email verification solution that integrates with several ESPs and identifies deliverable, undeliverable & potentially risky emails from your contact lists. This platform streamlines everything you need to monitor your email performance into a single platform so that you don’t have to juggle between multiple applications to gauge how effective your email campaign is.
You’ll have the luxury to gain visibility into inboxing, tab/label, and spam folder placement from important mailbox providers like Gmail, Outlook, Yahoo, iCloud, and popular international providers. Kickbox allows you to test and monitor inbox placement, authentication, blocklisting, spam filters & more to ensure that your emails reach the inbox.
Take your email engagement metrics up a notch with email deliverability tools from Kickbox
Regardless of a business’s size and industry, email marketing continues to present several business opportunities from lead generation to customer engagement.
Therefore, businesses need to invest in the right tools to track email engagement metrics so that they can look at what’s going wrong with their campaign and improve on stress areas. At the same time, these tools also tell what’s working well so you can direct your resources and attention to making it work better.
Kickbox presents a suite of deliverability tools that can help you monitor key areas in engagement metrics such as open rates, bounce rates, CTRs, conversion rates, and much more. With valuable insights at your fingertips, you can elevate your email marketing to the next level.
What’s more, if you have any issues our expert-level consulting team is here to offer auditing, consultation, and guidance to help you navigate through the complex world of what email engagement metrics you should be paying attention to.